In 1830s a span of workshops was constructed for the blacksmiths and shoemakers. These workshops were designed as the government wanted to make Port Arthur a self-sufficient as much as possible. Other workshops for the coppers, wood turners, tailors, nailers and carpenters were not constructed until the late 1850s. The convicts that had skills in their occupations were punished less and less seriously than the other men who were involved in a gang. The main work that was provided was timber getting, the timber was needed for buildings, boats, fences and furniture. The port Arthur forest was thick and filled with enormous eucalyptus, mostly blue gum, stringy bark and swamp gum. Shipbuilding began in 1834. Large amounts of vessels were built, this also included the governments schooners, small boats for the whaling industry and general transportation.